Search for members by Company, Person, City, and ZIP Code.
According to Florida law, consumers who hire unlicensed contractors could face a fine of up to $5,000.
Chapter 455.228 of the Florida Statutes allows the Department of Business and Professional Regulation to request the circuit courts to impose a civil penalty from $500 to $5,000 on individuals who aid and abet unlicensed construction contractors.
They may also be held liable for court costs. Aiding and abetting is defined by the Statute as very simply: Anyone who employs an unlicensed contractor or company.
For more information visit www.myfloridalicense.com.
To report an unlicensed contractor call (866) 532-1440.